Sunday, August 4, 2013

My First Homemade Veggie Drink

Today I made my first raw, vegan drink. As I predicted, my father was a hindrance to my juicing process. He had to show me how to use the juicer. We have such different cooking personality types. I had lots of specific recipes picked out and wanted to just start already. I had been waiting FOREVER to finally make some raw, vegan healthy food. I went to the natural food store and got all the ingredients today. I knew he was going to take forever. Cool healthy people like FullyRawKristina use their juicer or blender every single day, sometimes multiple times per day. He has only used his juicer once or twice, and it's like a project to him. I don't want it to be a project for me. I want it to be part of my lifestyle.
Also, he rarely goes to the store to buy things he wants to cook with like I do. Instead, he does the opposite: he looks for recipes with the ingredients he has on hand, which is usually garden-grown food. Gardening is so inconvenient. When I grow up, I'm going to buy a farm share from a local farm, not grow my own food. It takes so much time and it's boring and tedious, not to mention we end up with way more food than we need to the point where we're eating apricots, zucchini, and lettuce (just to name a few) every single day. And it's difficult to make the recipes I want because we're stuck with all this other stuff.
For this reason, he always tries to modify recipes to include ingredients I don't want. Another thing about my dad is that he always takes over the kitchen when I ask for his help. Once, I found a soup recipe in Better Homes and Gardens that I really wanted to try, and, like I expected, he took over and tried to make it all by himself. He also said we should put in some other things we had, that weren't in the recipe. He rarely follows recipes--he just does his own thing. I always follow recipes. We are so different. 

Anyway, after he scavenged all over the house looking for the instruction manual, I learned that juicers don't use the entire fruit. It takes out the pulp. I was going for the fine smoothie sort of thing where one just puts in all of the ingredients, pushes a button, and drinks. I didn't want all this complicated separation stuff. I ended up just using our Magic Bullet in the end. 
When I loaded in all the ingredients and looked at the flax seeds sitting on the spinach, I got the feeling of hope for the first time in this process. It's the feeling one gets when she watches FullyRawKristina videos, or the NutriBullet infomercials. I really hoped it wasn't going to fail miserably. I didn't think the rock-solid carrot was going to liquefy very well, and this is a pretty sketchy combo--what if it's disgusting? What if it gets stuck and it won't blend? 
Despite all my fears, I pushed to top and the spinach started blending very smoothly--and before I knew it, the whole thing was a green mush. Success! I did let my dad add in some cherry juice and apricots as well. 


I used a recipe I got from the NurtiBullet website called The Skinny Blast. It had spinach, banana, orange, pumpkin seeds, carrot, hemp seeds, and almond milk. I couldn't find any hemp seeds in the store (plus I don't really know what they are) so I used flax seeds.


It was very clumpy. It had spinach leaves and whole flax seeds still in it. I want to get the NurtiBullet because it liquefies everything so well. I haven't told anyone except my brother that I want to get one because we already have lots of appliances and my dad thinks it's a scam. I don't want him knowing that I was sucked into the glory of the infomercial.
It was good over all, it could just use some tweaking. I don't really like the orange aspect, but I do like the spinach. It's not perfect, but I won't stop until it is. 
When my sister walked by and saw the green mush in my glass, she was like, "What is that?" and I didn't answer. Then she said "What is it made out of?" She's so mean. I hate it when she makes fun of what I eat. It's bad enough that she doesn't have any stubborn unattractive flab even though she eats crap 24/7, but now she has to make fun of me for trying to look like her. I hope the world will finally make sense some day and she will get fat, sick and ugly, and I will be the beautiful, slim, healthy, young-looking woman.

So anyway, I made my first green smoothie--and it was a bumpy ride (in more ways than one) but the first step of anything is always the most difficult. Tomorrow I'll make a different recipe. 

No comments:

Post a Comment